DW Transtel

Classical Masterpieces

Classical Masterpieces

DW Transtel | 602586

Various duration
TV rights

The series Classical Masterpieces presents a rich repertoire ranging from symphonies, instrumental concertos and masses to chamber music and small solo works. Though the main emphasis is on the classical period, all other epochs in the history of music are represented as well. The orchestras featured are almost exclusively German, and the conductors and soloists are artists of international standing.

Chamber Music

036 Ludwig van Beethoven – Variations for cello and piano from Mozart’s opera “The Magic Flute”
Piano: Nerine Barrett
Cello: Claus Kanngiesser
11 min., 1978

Instrumental Concerts

054 Ludwig van Beethoven – Concerto No 4 in G major for piano and orchestra, op. 58
Saarland Radio Symphony
Piano: Alfred Brendel
Conductor: Hans Zender
35 min., 1981

070 Ludwig van Beethoven – Concerto in D major for violin and orchestra, op. 60
Saarland Radio Symphony Orchestra
Violin: Henryk Szeryng
Conductor: Hans Zender
49 min., 1983

136 Ludwig van Beethoven – Concerto No 5 in E at major for piano and orchestra, op. 73
Moravian Philharmonic, Olomouc
Soloist: Homero Francesch
Conductor: Helmut Müller-Brühl
40 min., 1993

Beethoven’s Symphonies

023 Symphony No 1 in C major, op. 21
Saarland Radio Symphony Orchestra Conductor: Hans Zender
24 min., 1978

100 Symphony No 3 in E at major, op. 55
SW German Radio Symphony Orchestra Conductor: Michael Gielen
45 min., 1992

101 Symphony No 8 in F major, op. 93
Chamber Orchestra of Europe Conductor: Lorin Maazel
27 min., 1988

102 Symphony No 9 in D minor, op. 125
South German Radio Chorus Bavarian Radio Chorus
Radio Symphony Orchestra, Stuttgart Soprano: Hildegard Heichele Contralto: Marjana Lipovsek
Tenor: Keith Lewis
Bass: John Macurdy
Conductor: Sir Neville Marriner
73 min., 1988