Mass No. 5 in A-flat major

No Linguistic Content
1 x 70 min

Andrés Orozco-Estrada revives the tradition of the styriarte church concerts in Stainz. During the Beethoven cycle of the 2016 styriarte, he and Concentus Musicus got along so well that the idea of a Schubert programme was born. At the heart of it all: Schubert’s greatest masses in the original sound of his time. “I still have the intent of dedicating it to the Emperor or Empress, because I find it excellent”. Schubert’s dream did not come true. What would Emperor Franz have made of this earthquake of faith? But it is perfect material for a volcano on the stand of a conductor like Orozco-Estrada.

Franz Schubert (*1797 – †1828)

Magnificat in C, D 486
Allegro maestoso. Andante. Allegro vivace Tantum ergo in Es, D 962
Andante sostenuto

Mass No. 5 in A-flat major, D 678
Kyrie; Andante con moto
Gloria; Allegro maestoso e vivace. Andantino. Allegro moderato
Credo; Allegro maestoso e vivace. Grave. Tempo I
Sanctus; Andante. Allegro
Benedictus; Andante con moto
Agnus Dei; Adagio. Allegretto

Scroll to top
Selection Cart